top of page


Public·10 members
Elnsvine Michelle
Elnsvine Michelle

Richie Hawtin Complete Discography Minus

Richie Hawtin Complete Discography Minus

Richie Hawtin is a Canadian-born, British-raised, and Berlin-based DJ, producer, and label owner who is widely regarded as one of the pioneers of minimal techno and electronic music. He is best known for his aliases Plastikman, F.U.S.E., and Concept 1, as well as his collaborations with other artists such as Speedy J, Pete Namlook, and Ricardo Villalobos. He has also founded several influential labels, such as Plus 8, Probe, and Minus.

Download File:

In this article, we will explore the complete discography of Minus, Hawtin's most prominent label that has been active since 1998. Minus was launched by Hawtin as a platform for his own productions and collaborations, as well as for showcasing emerging artists who shared his vision of minimalism and experimentation. The label has released over 200 records, including albums, singles, compilations, and DVDs, featuring artists such as Gaiser, Matador, Marc Houle, Magda, Troy Pierce, Heartthrob, and many more.

The Early Years: 1998-2004

The first release on Minus was Hawtin's own album Concept 1 96:12, which was a collection of 12 tracks that he had recorded in 1996 using a limited set of equipment and effects. The album was originally released as a subscription series of 12 vinyl records, one per month, each containing one track. The tracks were numbered from 1.1 to 12.1 and had no titles or artwork. The album was reissued on CD in 1998 with two bonus tracks (13.1 and 14.1) and again in 2021 with four additional tracks (15.1 to 18.1). The album is considered a landmark in minimal techno, as it explored the possibilities of repetition, variation, and modulation with a stripped-down sound.

The second release on Minus was another Hawtin project, Plastikman, which was his most acclaimed alias that he had started in 1993 on Plus 8. Plastikman's music was characterized by dark, hypnotic, and acidic techno with a distinctive use of Roland TB-303 bass synthesizer. On Minus, Hawtin released two Plastikman albums: Consumed in 1998 and Closer in 2003. Consumed was a concept album that explored the theme of consumption and digestion, both literally and metaphorically. The album consisted of eight tracks that were named after parts of the digestive system, such as Konception, Gastro, and Cor Ten. The album was praised for its immersive and atmospheric soundscapes that created a sense of depth and space. Closer was a more personal and introspective album that reflected Hawtin's emotional state at the time. The album featured Hawtin's own vocals for the first time, processed through various effects and filters. The album also included a hidden track called Ask Yourself, which was a question-and-answer session between Hawtin and his fans that he had recorded online.

The third release on Minus was a collaboration between Hawtin and Dutch producer Speedy J (Jochem Paap), under the name Collabs. The duo released two albums on Minus: Collabs 3000: Metalism in 2005 and Collabs 400: Tracks in 2006. The albums were recorded live using laptops and hardware synthesizers, creating a dynamic and improvised techno sound that blended elements of minimalism, electro, acid, and ambient. The albums were also accompanied by DVDs that featured live footage and interviews with the artists.

Besides Hawtin's own projects, Minus also introduced several new artists who became part of the label's roster. Some of the notable ones were:

  • Gaiser: Jon Gaiser is an American producer who joined Minus in 2005. He is known for his intricate and groovy techno tracks that feature complex percussions, glitchy sounds, and catchy melodies. Some of his popular releases on Minus are And Answer, Neural Block, Blank Fade, and False Light.

  • Matador: Gavin Lynch is an Irish producer who joined Minus in 2011. He is known for his energetic and colorful techno tracks that combine analog and digital sounds, as well as vocals and samples. Some of his popular releases on Minus are Kingswing, Spooks, Zoles, and Ructions.

  • Marc Houle: Marc Houle is a Canadian producer who joined Minus in 2004. He is known for his quirky and funky techno tracks that feature retro synths, playful melodies, and humorous vocals. Some of his popular releases on Minus are Bay of Figs, Techno Vocals, Salame, and Cola Party.

The Later Years: 2005-Present

In the later years, Minus continued to release quality techno music from Hawtin and other artists, as well as expanding its scope to include other genres and formats. Some of the notable releases from this period are:

  • DE9: Transitions: This was Hawtin's third installment in his DE9 series, which started with Decks, EFX & 909 in 1999 and continued with DE9: Closer to the Edit in 2001. The series showcased Hawtin's skills as a DJ and a producer, as he mixed and manipulated hundreds of tracks using various tools and techniques. DE9: Transitions was released in 2005 and featured over 70 tracks that were blended into a seamless mix that lasted over an hour. The album was also accompanied by a DVD that featured a visual representation of the mix, as well as a bonus CD that contained the original tracks used in the mix.

  • EX: This was Hawtin's first Plastikman album in 11 years, released in 2014. The album was recorded live at the Guggenheim Museum in New York, where Hawtin performed as part of a retrospective exhibition of his work. The album consisted of seven tracks that were inspired by the architecture and atmosphere of the museum, creating a minimal and ambient techno sound that contrasted with the previous Plastikman albums.

  • From My Mind to Yours: This was a compilation album that celebrated the 25th anniversary of Plus 8, Hawtin's first label that he co-founded with John Acquaviva in 1990. The album was released in 2015 and featured new tracks from Hawtin and other artists who had been part of Plus 8 over the years, such as Speedy J, Daniel Bell, Kenny Larkin, and others. The album also featured tracks from Hawtin's various aliases, such as Plastikman, F.U.S.E., Robotman, Childsplay, and others.

  • Time Warps: This was Hawtin's latest release on Minus, which came out in 2020. The release consisted of two tracks that were each over 15 minutes long, titled Time Warps and Time Stands Still. The tracks were described by Hawtin as "an experiment in exploring the relationship between time perception and music production". The tracks featured Hawtin's signature minimal techno sound, but with a more psychedelic and hypnotic twist.

Minus is still active today, releasing new music from Hawtin and other artists who share his vision of techno. The label has also branched out to other media, such as podcasts, live streams, events, merchandise, and more. Minus is not only a label, but also a community of artists and fans who are passionate about techno and electronic music.


  • [AllMusic]

  • [Pitchfork]

  • [Resident Advisor]

  • [Discogs]

  • [Mute]

  • [From Our Minds]

  • [Plus 8]

  • [Bandcamp]


Welcome to the group! You can connect with other members, ge...


bottom of page